South Carolina State Dog

The Boykin Spaniel Society® was founded in the summer of 1977 in Camden, South Carolina. Within the first year the Society had over 300 members from 25 states. An official registry for the breed was started in 1979. The Boykin Spaniel Society has now grown to over 4000 members hailing from every state in the union as well as Canada, Switzerland, Austria, France, England, Japan, Hong Kong, Korea, Africa and Germany.

The Boykin Spaniel Society's first annual National Hunting Test was held May 23, 1980. Since then the competitors have grown steadily in numbers and ability, attracting dog owners and handlers from all parts of the country. Two National Field Trials are held yearly, Spring National (non-slip retriever field trial) in early spring in South Carolina & Upland National Field Trial in January.

The Boykin's ability in the field and amiable nature have brought him praise in all forms. On April 20, 1984 the South Carolina Wildlife and Marine Resources Commission endorsed the Boykin spaniel as South Carolina's state dog. Governor Richard W. Riley proclaimed September 1, 1984, the first day of dove hunting season, as Boykin Spaniel Day. On March 26, 1985, Governor Riley signed into law the act making the Boykin spaniel the official South Carolina state dog. Boykins have been on several state duck stamps and graced many covers of national magazines and catalogs.